Options

Interswitch same Vlan host communication

GrimmjowGrimmjow Registered Users Posts: 5 ■□□□□□□□□□
[h=2][/h]
I am new to CCNA........I have a host1 192.168.1.2 ( vlan 2) in Switch 0 and host2 192.168.1.9 (vlan 2) in switch 1 . Switch 1 and 0 are connected to switch 2 as a trunk. But ping fails between host1 and host 2 .....host 1 arp should flow to host 2 through switch 2 and switch 1 right.....i am not sure why?? Help needed pls (y)

Comments

• Options
    Jon_CiscoJon_Cisco Member Posts: 1,772 ■■■■■■■■□□
    Just start running through options.

All ports are active.
    Ports show up in the correct vlan when you use show commands.
    Trunking was successful so you don't see your trunk in a vlan.
    No firewall is blocking the ping.
    Subnet masks match.

Are you working with a real lab or a simulator?
  • Options
    I am working in a simulator......trunks are successful as i was able to configure vlans through vtp....I checked the ports and subnet masks match :/
  • Options
    EdTheLadEdTheLad Member Posts: 2,111 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Provide some show commands, this is how you shoud be troubleshooting the issue!

On all switches provide the following:

show vlan
    show interface trunk
    show interface x/x switchport
    sho spanning-tree vlan x
    shwo mac address-table vlan x
    Networking, sometimes i love it, mostly i hate it.Its all about the $$$$
  • Options
    broli720broli720 Member Posts: 394 ■■■■□□□□□□
    EdTheLad wrote: »
    Provide some show commands, this is how you shoud be troubleshooting the issue!

On all switches provide the following:

show vlan
    show interface trunk
    show interface x/x switchport
    sho spanning-tree vlan x
    shwo mac address-table vlan x

As stated above, having this information would narrow down a lot of issues.
  • Options