Options

CISSP-ISSMP Pass

kzckzc Member Posts: 12 ■□□□□□□□□□
I passed the ISSMP. I basically took the exam cold; I spent about six to eight hours skimming the old CBK over the last week.

- Know business continuity and disaster recovery.
- Know best practices for incident response management.
- Know ethical practices.
- Have the requisite experience.

I have not taken the CISM, so I have no frame of reference to speak to the comparability. I would assume they are very similar in difficulty.

I felt many of the ISSMP answers were obvious. I have a lot of experience in this area, but even so, this exam does not even belong in the same conversation as the ISSEP in terms of difficulty.

Comments

• Options
    zxbanezxbane Member Posts: 740 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Congrats!

I am sitting the CISM in June so it would be interesting to hear the comparison between the two. Could you expand on your experience in IA/Security?

Also, I would love to attempt the ISSEP eventually as well, interesting to hear that it is much more difficult. Do you work for the DoD by chance? (I've heard ISSEP is very applicable in the DoD realm)
  • Options
    cyberguyprcyberguypr Mod Posts: 6,928 Mod
  • Options
    1 year helpdesk
    2 years systems administration and engineering
    8 years strategic information assurance consulting (including everything from developing custom frameworks to leveraging DIACAP and NIST to assist in implementation)

I have had federal and DoD clients, as well as clients bound by federal and DoD requirements. The ISSEP is extremely applicable, and my studies in it have improved my efficiency with non-federal clients, as well. It was worth it.

If I could ever make ISACA test dates I would have had no use for the ISSMP. Sorry I can't be of more help there. I assume somebody around here has both...
  • Options
    zxbanezxbane Member Posts: 740 ■■■■□□□□□□