Options

A little advice from the pros

xlg123xlg123 Member Posts: 34 ■■□□□□□□□□
Need some pointers in the right direction. I’m 30 years old and need to change career fields. I’ve been a police officer for 10 years, and as such, that’s where all my experience is. I have always loved computers and picked up the info quickly. I am about 8 classes from my BS in CS. I have some time and plan on getting an A+ (should be easy) to start, than CCNA.
I’ve always been the “computer” guy everyone has gone to for everything from “how do I save a file” to “I typed FDISK, can I get my stuff back….?”
In 94-96 I built custom PCs from scratch on the side. The only other documentable (if that’s a word) experience I have is doing computer forensic work. I currently handle the investigations for my agency, from system seizure, evidence seizure (EnCase, etc…) to the final report and courtroom testimony on the computer aspect. I have about a year before I need to make any drastic changes. Any advice would be appreciated. I’m in Central Florida, and I’ve looked at the ads “2-5 years exp., 10 years exp., etc.
TIA!!
Oh, and I have a family, so starting out at $9 an hour probably isnt an option.... Thanks Again.

Comments

• Options
    KGhaleonKGhaleon Member Posts: 1,346 ■■■■□□□□□□
    I live in Central florida as well, and I find it to be hectic getting a job anywhere. I tried to get a job with the IMS department at the Orange county police department and after nearly a year of waiting...my application got turned down. ;_; Places like that are tough, so I respect the work you've done so far. Have you thought about going into digital security after your A+?

Security would certainly seem like your line of work. I know many people who went from being police offices to security or general tech guys at police departments. I'd say use what you have to go further instead of starting from scratch.

KG
    Present goals: MCAS, MCSA, 70-680
  • Options