Options

Quick Question about MCITP

A couple of years ago, I started studying for MCITP, Windows 2008 r2, then of course life sidetracked me, I still have my Study resources, it was put out by SYMEX in a 3 book format, with CD's and such, I know things have moved along and it seems as if many are now studying for Win 2012. I am wondering, is it worth going through the 2008 stuff get my cert, then update to 2012, or is 2008 still prevalent enough in the field to make it worth completing the course I currently own. I have a Poweredge 1850 with Win 2008 r2 installed on it, that I can do practical exercises and such. IS the 2012 version really that much different than 2008?

Thanks in advance.
Current Lab: 4 C2950 WS, 1 C2950G EI, 3 1841, 2 2503, Various Modules, Parts and Pieces. Dell Power Edge 1850, Dell Power Edge 1950.

Comments

• Options
    JasminLandryJasminLandry Member Posts: 601 ■■■□□□□□□□
    I would say it depends on what your job uses. I'm still studying 2008 as well since at my job we don't even have 1 2012 server yet.
  • Options
    MTciscoguyMTciscoguy Member Posts: 552
    I would say it depends on what your job uses. I'm still studying 2008 as well since at my job we don't even have 1 2012 server yet.

Thanks, actually I am retired, so I have plenty of time to do either, I am doing this because I have played with stuff for over 30 years now, but I don't want to waste time getting certs in something that is not being used much anylonger, My wife and I are planning on setting up a data center for her internet business and I want to do independent consulting as most of the companies around here don't have full time IT staff's, I am also working on Cisco certs as well.
    Current Lab: 4 C2950 WS, 1 C2950G EI, 3 1841, 2 2503, Various Modules, Parts and Pieces. Dell Power Edge 1850, Dell Power Edge 1950.
  • Options
    iBrokeITiBrokeIT Member Posts: 1,318 ■■■■■■■■■□