Options

Passed 5/14 my impressions

TripleDESTripleDES Member Posts: 10 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello all, posting here to encourage others to continue their pursuit of passing the CISSP.icon_cheers.gif

Here are my impressions of taking the test and passing it on 5/14.

I have 20 years’ technology experience in the financial industry. I started back in the Novell 3.11 days so I have worked with most of the legacy technology that might have been on the test as we newer stuff like active –active clusters and been in info-sec the last 6 years.

I ordered the study books back in the fall of last year but keep putting off studying. I kept saying I’ll do it when it gets colder in Chicago. Then football started and then the playoffs then March madness and work was always disrupting weekend studying.

So I just booked a test date for 5/14 2 months out to force me to get serious. I also wanted to complete so I could enjoy spring and summer a bit. Funny that 2 days after passing the test we had snow flurries in the Chicago area. I really need to move!!!

Anyway here is what I did.

First of all I didn't want to learn just enough just to past the test. I've been in the IT business a while and welcomed the idea of showing what I know but also learning a few new things in great detail.

I fully condone making index cards as others have recommended. I made about 250. Don’t ask to have mine because I think you’ll benefit more from making your own, sorry.

I also documented any question I missed and spent some time learning about the subject material.

used the following books: AIO, Stuart and 11th hour the final week.

I never wanted to repeat any test. So I took tests on each domain as I competed reading through them.

tested using paid CCCure. Strangely I almost always averaged 76% on each individual test.

tried Transcenter for a few tests (included in CBT nuggets 7 day trial).

Did 2 Eric Conrad 250 question exams and averaged 80% each.