Options

Finally a MCSA: Windows Server 2008

NetworkEng756NetworkEng756 Member Posts: 13 ■□□□□□□□□□
Several years ago I tried to take the 70-642 and failed in miserably. Apparently I studied the original material and the test had just switched to R2 and I didn't realize it.

Finally several weeks ago I tried the 70-642 again and failed again by only a question or two. Had to wait 2 weeks to take it again, so I studied for the 70-646 and 70-640 in the meantime. I took those tests and passed. Finally retook 70-642 today and passed!

I'm finally a MCSA after 17 years of working with Windows networks since NT.

Here's what I did to finally pass the 3 exams:

1. Watched the CBT Nuggets videos. And the Train Signal videos (now pluralsight). Both are needed, I think, because both had some good info that the other didn't. Pluralsight is $29/mo and CBT Nuggests to $100/mo. I'm keeping them both to re-certify on my CCNA and maybe the upgrade to MCSA 2012. Using both helped immensely.
2. LAB. LAB. LAB. Used VMware Workstation. And Lab'd some more.
3. Read “MCTS 70-640 Cert Guide” and “MCTS 70-642 Cert Guide” by Don Poulton.

I failed the second time with 70-642 becuase I got cocky. I only read about half the book, and only watched the CBT Nuggets videos. I figured I knew it but wasn't prepared with port numbers those damn simlet thingys. To pass the 3rd time, I think what helped me most is watching all the videos for 70-640, 70-642, and 70-646 from both CBT Nuggets and Train Signal. Having watched all these together I think it finally pulled everything together. It helped me understand my weaknesses better. I especially paid attention to the R2 update videos in both courses which helped tremendously.