Options

taking CISSP this Saturday

chucktaylor244chucktaylor244 Member Posts: 12 ■□□□□□□□□□
i've been lurking here for a few months, but figure i'll finally post:

taking CISSP in a couple days, first try. i've been using Conrad (both books) and the Sybex book as my primary means of study. no bootcamp or anything.

I've been in the IT industry over 20 years, have a CCIE (R/S and Security), Masters in Infosec and a PhD as well..

I've been meaning to get the CISSP for awhile but put it off, figure now is the time!

i've been studying hard-core for about 3 months now, i'll post my results here saturday afternoon

Comments

• Options
    bigdummybigdummy Member Posts: 30 ■□□□□□□□□□
    Good luck on Saturday!

Given your background and certs/credentials, I'd say you have a pretty damn good chance of passing :D

I've been using the same two books, so looking forward to hearing whether you think their coverage of the material is sufficient...
  • Options
    thanks, i think i would stand a better than average chance.

i also have the shon harris book, i lasted about two chapters before i discarded it. I simply do not like the way the information was presented.

The CBK is even more dry, i bought it and skimmed a few chapters but stuck it back on the bookshelf

i have been using the mcgraw hill tests and paid for the CCCURE membership. CCCURE is ok, but gravitated toward the mcgraw hill tests for most of my studying.
  • Options
    cyberguyprcyberguypr Mod Posts: 6,928 Mod
  • Options
    TheProfezzorTheProfezzor Member Posts: 204 ■■■□□□□□□□
    You have a CCIE is R&S, Masters in InfoSec and a PhD. If you're not going to get it, who will? :)
    Good Luck on the exam. I am expecting you will have lots of fun!
    OSCP: Loading . . .
  • Options
    here's my study plan, i planned a 3 month block of time for the exam:

started off reading conrad 2nd edition, then read the sybex book (cover to cover)