Options

CISSP right for me and how much study time?

relegatedrelegated Member Posts: 81 ■■■□□□□□□□
I am currently a senior systems administrator and have held a system admin type position for about 10 years. I currently have my security+, MCSA, VCP DV, and A+ as well as a bachelor's degree from a technical school. I would like to move into a full time security role, although what specifically I'm not sure. I do know that I don't want to go into management nor be in a less technical role. The CISSP seems to be the blanket security role though more towards management while other certifications seem to be focused on specific areas of security. My work is willing to pay for the exam and some materials.

I think I meet the 4-5 year experience requirements and know a CISSP who said they should be able to vouch for me if I pass. I wanted to get some feedback and see if the CISSP sounded right for me and what kind of timeline I would be looking at study wise. I have looked at some other posts and they were talking months of study.

Comments

• Options
    LionelTeoLionelTeo Member Posts: 526 ■■■■■■■□□□
    About 6 months of casual studying for me. 1.5k pages of Official Book and 600 pages of Conrad Books. I personally feel I wasted too much time on Official and could probably nail it in 3 months if I focus on conrad path, but its a relatively new certs for me so it would take longer. I think it should take around the same time for you as well, usually for such milestone cert we will get on toes and ensure we know everything before going for the exam, end up feelings its a piece of cake and found out we could have finish it earlier upon completion
  • Options
    relegatedrelegated Member Posts: 81 ■■■□□□□□□□