Options

Server experience needed?

kbowen0188kbowen0188 Member Posts: 87 ■■□□□□□□□□
I am looking to start with the 680 test. While I am experienced with the OS, I am not very experienced at all with servers. From what I understand, this test does expect you to know a bit about 2008 R2? Do the study materials cover that and would labs help cover it, or would it perhaps be best to study and lab for a Microsoft server certification first?

I would eventually like to land a job as a junior admin. I am desktop support now (hence the desire for the 7 cert), but want to have a solid base of knowledge to hopefully progress my career in that direction.

Comments

• Options
    kriscamaro68kriscamaro68 Member Posts: 1,186 ■■■■■■■□□□
    You generally will only need to know about server related topics that will pertain to desktops. I would setup a WDS server, get to know group policy and when to use a user policy vs a computer policy, and the types of policies there are. I would not say you need to know the ins and outs of 08R2 at all. Also make sure you understand the basic syntax of powershell. Be able to look at an answer with powershell and understand what the cmd is doing so you can eliminate wrong answers. Good luck in your studies and with the test.
  • Options
    Brandonm2Brandonm2 Member Posts: 22 ■□□□□□□□□□