Options

Law Enforcement to IT transition?

turboparturbopar Registered Users Posts: 1 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello everyone! Sorry for the length of the post...

I've been on the forums a bit and finally got around to making an account because I have a burning question.

I am currently a law enforcement officer (uniformed patrol) with a bachelors in Criminology. I am looking to transition to the IT field because there is just something appealing about being reasonably sure you will come home at night with no more holes in your body than you left with. And the stress is wreaking havoc on myself and my family.

I have no formal education in IT however I have done some retail work where I did PC repairs in addition to sales, and I had a small business of computer repair for a number of years that I used for extra cash during school. My weakness is in web stuff (HTML, ect.), and programming and high-level math required by Comp Sci degrees, although I don't really have an interest in either.

I would like to do something in information/cyber or network security, fraud, forensics, or IT auditing/compliance. Private or public sector. I know the above isn't entry level, but those are the fields I want to work towards. I just don't know where to begin. Do I need another bachelors to be competitive? Do I go
for my A+ and start back at the bottom with help desk stuff? Is my current experience and education irrelevant or unhelpful to pursuing IT?

There are not a whole lot of opportunities at my current employer or most of my state for public sector work in the above. Most is Federal or private sector.

My other career option is a masters in Accounting and a minor in "Industrial Systems and Operations Management" from University of Florida, and pursue a CPA - but that is a 3 year ordeal minimum and LOTS of student loans.

I appreciate anyone's advice! Thanks

Comments

• Options
    tkerbertkerber Member Posts: 223