My degree is useless!

aftereffectoraftereffector Member Posts: 525 ■■■■□□□□□□
My degree is useless. Or is it?

I have a bachelor's in military history from an online for-profit school. I went there for a variety of reasons, most of which centered around getting a degree - any degree - as fast as possible, hence the major; I could transfer in a ton of elective credits, and as a young army officer, writing papers about battles and analyzing strategy was entertaining at least. My life plans changed a lot in the last few years, though, and I am now transitioning out of a military career and into civilian employment as an information assurance manager / IT jack of all trades. My new job will give me a vast array of work experience in everything from virtualization to DIACAP to VoIP engineering to Windows Server and RHEL administration, and I have a few certs to back up my current technical and managerial work experience. What I don't have is a relevant college degree. My employer has education benefits and I have the GI Bill to fall back on, so the financial side is taken care of, but I don't know which direction to go.

My long term goal is to become a CISO, so I'm not going for a CCIE and a network engineer role or a list of SANS certs and a pen-tester job with Mandiant - though I am still very young in my career and I wouldn't rule anything out (and Mandiant sounds like a really fun place to work). Still, I have to pick something to aim for or I will not get anywhere. That said, I will be working full time in a very interesting job, so I can't take a full time course load at a state university; however, I can do distance learning or night school.
  • Local community college - good introductory computer science / programing offerings, and absurdly cheap (means money in my pocket), but I'd run out of useful courses quickly and nothing would translate to a line on a resume down the road