Options

CISSP - passed on first attempt – July 2, 2014

bigdummybigdummy Member Posts: 30 ■□□□□□□□□□
I’m quite happy and relieved to have passed the exam today. Feels damn good to have this monkey off my back!

I have about 15 years IT experience, the last 10 of which I spent serving in a small IT dept as the IT Manager/server/network/security guy, for a business with approximately 100 users. Small company, but publicly traded, so lots of experience with SOX audits and the types of compliance and controls you’d typically see in bigger shops. So I have experience with most of the CBK, both the management type stuff and the technical engineering side of things.

I’ve been half-assedly thinking about the CISSP for a couple years now, but after getting laid off 2 months ago when they closed my local office, I found the motivation I needed to get serious about it. So I studied for a solid two months, probably 6 hours a day on average.

My feeling is that the exam was definitely not easy, but it was much easier than I had expected. Every question was very well written and clearly worded – there were no trick questions, or ambiguous wording. I felt like the real test was simpler, or at least better written, than any the practice tests I’d taken. There were maybe 10 or so questions that I didn’t really know what they were talking about and had never seen the material before, but I assumed these were unscored beta questions.

I was there about 4 hours total. Took me about 3 hours to do my first pass (including 10 minute break) and then I spent about an hour reviewing the 30 or so questions that I marked for review. It really is an analytical exam, and passing probably has less to do with your technical mastery of the CBK, and more to do with your test taking skills. I found that on many questions where I didn’t know the answer, I was able to think my way through it and eliminate three of the answers as being wrong.