CCNP books

ninjaturtleninjaturtle Member Posts: 245 ■■■□□□□□□□
Which CCNP books are you guys using for the ROUTE track? For some reason, I find the Official Certification Guide by Wendell Odom horrible. Something about Odom I just don't like, I find what he's explaining very confusing. I noticed the same when I studied for my CCNA. When I read the Official Certification Guide for SWITCH by David Hucaby, I found the read to be very fluid and easy to understand. I might be nitpicking on this one, but I still can't help but complain. I was thinking about getting the Foundation Learning Guide for ROUTE, which I believe just gets into more detail that's not necessarily covered on the ROUTE exam.

Thoughts?
Current Study Discipline: CCIE Data Center
Cisco SEAL, Cisco SWAT, Cisco DeltaForce, Cisco FBI, Cisco DoD, Cisco Army Rangers, Cisco SOCOM .ιlι..ιlι.

Comments

• Danielh22185Danielh22185 Member Posts: 1,195 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Route is a beast, you have to master many topics, commonly new stuff for people coming from CCNA or with limited work experience. I think the OCG book as been ofically labled by most here as the worst reading resource available. Not to say it is horrible but not the best. I personally would suggest choosing the Foundation Learning Guide and the Simplified book. I read all 3 and would never recommend the OCG to anyone over the FLG or Simplified books.
    Currently Studying: IE Stuff...kinda...for now...
    My ultimate career goal: To climb to the top of the computer network industry food chain.
    "Winning means you're willing to go longer, work harder, and give more than anyone else." - Vince Lombardi
  • CodeBloxCodeBlox Member Posts: 1,363 ■■■■□□□□□□
    I found that the OCG was missing tons of info covered in the ROUTE exam. Go with FLG. I used OCG, FLG (which was pretty accurate) and CBT Nuggets.
    Currently reading: Network Warrior, Unix Network Programming by Richard Stevens
    CodeBlox wrote: »