New to I.T., where to begin??

CincoSeisDosCincoSeisDos Registered Users Posts: 1 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi. I'm new here,

I'll start off with a bit about my background and why i'm here. I have a background doing manual labor, I was a cable installer for a few years before deciding to try my hand at getting a welding certification. I successfully attained that... but the work was nowhere to be found by the time I did, and you'd think living in SoCal , a few miles from the Port of LA that'd be easy to find.

I returned to aerial work for att splicing the lines for u-verse a year ago, and was laid off with many others back in March. I was diagnosed with Multiple Sclerosis in May. During my physical therapy during my time in the hospital I got to conversing with the therapist, he asked if i'm working, and my work history, I replied, to which he said "Looks like we've got to leave that in the past!" I knew this was my new reality, but not one I didn't see coming.

Anywho, here I am a month from 27 with needing to start a new careerpath. I'm excited, frustrated, and scared after opening up my Wendell Odom 100-101 book and having read through the first two chapters with nothing making sense. Am I in above my head?

I ordered the Mike Myers CompTIA A+ book which should be coming in today after receiving recommendations for it , telling me it's a great place to begin for someone who truly is new to IT and build up confidence for the bigger certs. Is this book helpful?

How realistic is my desire? I truly want this. I'm just lost as to how to approach this new venture!

Any and all help, pointers, advice are appreciated! Thank you!

Comments

• shauncarter1shauncarter1 Member Posts: 40 ■■□□□□□□□□