Options

Cisco 2801 Router

traceyketraceyke Member Posts: 100 ■■□□□□□□□□
Yesterday, my boss was charitable enough to give me a Cisco 2801 router that the company was no longer using. I've already ordered two Cisco 2950 switches and one Cisco 2611xm router. However, I've never seen/heard of anybody on here using a 2801 router for CCNA studies. Will this setup suffice for CCNA?

P.S.

This is my very first attempt at building a home lab and I must say that it is very fun (and wildly addictive) to shop/hunt for equipment! Why didn't I go this route earlier?!? lol

Comments

• Options
    MTciscoguyMTciscoguy Member Posts: 552
    These guys suggest having one for the CCNA along with 1841 routers, there is a pretty good write up about various parts and pieces for labs at this link.

Cisco CCNA Lab Suggestions | CCNA Certification 200-120
    Current Lab: 4 C2950 WS, 1 C2950G EI, 3 1841, 2 2503, Various Modules, Parts and Pieces. Dell Power Edge 1850, Dell Power Edge 1950.
  • Options
    Jon_CiscoJon_Cisco Member Posts: 1,772 ■■■■■■■■□□
    Find out what ios is on it and what it can be upgraded to. I am sure it will work out fine for CCNA study.

Be careful it is extremely addictive to buy used equipment. You can learn a lot just from the hunt for good deals.

Good Luck!
  • Options
    The 2801 can be upgraded to the 15.1(4) IOS level and has 4 WIC slots for various card upgrades. It also supports voice.
    Current Lab: 4 C2950 WS, 1 C2950G EI, 3 1841, 2 2503, Various Modules, Parts and Pieces. Dell Power Edge 1850, Dell Power Edge 1950.
  • Options
    MTciscoguy wrote: »
    The 2801 can be upgraded to the 15.1(4) IOS level and has 4 WIC slots for various card upgrades. It also supports voice.

So according to you guys, I basically got an awesome router for free? This is great because I really want to get my CCNA Voice after I pass the CCNA!
  • Options
    ZartanasaurusZartanasaurus Member Posts: 2,008 ■■■■■■■■■□