Taking the VCP exam without having the course completed(yet))

SteveFerSteveFer Member Posts: 69 ■■□□□□□□□□
I am halfway through studying for the exam, and hoped to get a place on the Stanly course for August, but having not heard anything I probably won't, I would like to take the exam while I'm studying now instead of having to wait till Janaury, I'm just wondering would I be able to take the exam, then take the course in January. I've seen this question answered from about a year ago and just want to make sure that you still can ?

Comments

• jibbajabbajibbajabba Member Posts: 4,317 ■■■■■■■■□□
    You used to be able to, not any more though. Before you can sign up for the exam, Prometric will validate your eligibility with VMware. As you don't have the course under your belt yet, the validation will fail and you will not be able to sit the exam until you did sit the course first.
    My own knowledge base made public: http://open902.com :p
  • SteveFerSteveFer Member Posts: 69 ■■□□□□□□□□
  • SurgeSurge Member Posts: 26 ■□□□□□□□□□
    Looking at the vmware certification FAQ it appears you can still take the test before the class.
    You do need to request authorization on your vmware account before you will show up to be able to test via pearson vue but that is same regardless.

VMware Certification

Do I need to take the class before I take the exam?

While you can take the class and the exam in any order, VMware recommends that you complete the course requirement prior to scheduling and taking the exam.

• GSXRulesGSXRules Member Posts: 109
    jibbajabba wrote: »
    You used to be able to, not any more though. Before you can sign up for the exam, Prometric will validate your eligibility with VMware. As you don't have the course under your belt yet, the validation will fail and you will not be able to sit the exam until you did sit the course first.

PearsonVue will not validate your class status before booking you into an exam.