Passed ICND2 (finally)

Magic JohnsonMagic Johnson Member Posts: 414
My GOD. 10 months. 2 exams. Hardest thing I've ever done. I am not very good at studying, I have little attention span and my motivation can plummet faster than RSTP can converge.

ICND1 went really well. 3 months, staying late at work, weekends etc, I passed in January. ICND2 not so well. I was rocked by my grandfather's rapid decline in health (it was expected), ultimately ending in his death in March. In February we put our house up for sale, sold it, and bought a new one. We moved at the end of March. I found a new job in April and started in May as a voice engineer with a small ISP. You can imagine the shock to the system that was.

Set back after set back it was, and my own laziness did not help. I can make excuses but that's what it boiled down to. I was lazy. I lost my motivation too. Picking up the book was a real struggle, ICND1 was not like this. Anyway my new work wanted me to have it done (they use the fact most of their engineers are CCNA minimum certified as a selling point) by June, then July and August the 1st was the final date. I had to nail it. I studied like never before, working from home was far easier to put the hours in, for 2 weeks I basically ate, slept and drank ICND2. Labs, book, notes, commands, everything.

I was passing the CISCO Press exams quite easily but Boson no, I got around 60% first time, and the highest I could get was 81%. I was panicking, I felt much better prepared than my ICND1 exam, but I just could not pass this Boson exam.