Options

Finally Going to Get Some Networking Experience!

bugzy3188bugzy3188 Member Posts: 213 ■■■□□□□□□□
I started my IT career 2 years ago at a small MSP after ataining a few Microsoft certs, this field wasnt just something that I was "trying out" I have known that IT was my only path for quite some time. It didnt take long after finally landing an IT gig to realize that networking was my true passion, the hands on, technical nature of it just suits me well. So I started studying, I managed to get my CCNA a few months back and have landed a new job with a much larger company (with multiple sites and Cisco gear!). This was a lateral move for me in to a help desk role but I have made it a point to get as involved with the network and systems team as possible even convincing one of them to take me on a field trip and show me some remote locations as well as our data center, I have also made it clear from the start that I am very interested in the networking aspect of things while proving that I can manage my current workload as well. I have been front and center each time a network issue or task came up making sure that I learn as much about our environment as possible, you get the point ;).

Well I am finally getting to go hands on, I was asked to map out the topology for one of our remote locations and create a Visio diagram. While this may seem like a trivial task, it is exactly what I have been hoping for (unfortunately my company has some pretty terrible documentation so learning our network has been challenging). I have also been asked to submit an official request for switch and router access...thats huge!!!.... for me anyway. I am very excited to undertake this task though it should be pretty simple, this will at very least give my boss the piece of mind that I can get under the hood of our network without bringing it down, hopefully opening the doors to some more involved tasks in the future.