Options

Where to go from here.

sbucklandsbuckland Member Posts: 16 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello, I am a student at WGU, so far I have recieved my cert for web design, Javascript, Net+, and Security+. In that order of completion. The certs I have left are Database, Project+, Linux+. Does anybody have any recommendations on what I should take next, leave for last, etc..etc..

Comments

• Options
    broli720broli720 Member Posts: 394 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Just a word of caution, be wary of obtaining certs without the required experience for validation. I say the ones you have are enough, but if WGU requires you to obtain those certifications then go for it. If this isn't the case, then I'd hold off until you can get some work experience.
  • Options
    markulousmarkulous Member Posts: 2,394 ■■■■■■■■□□
    broli720 wrote: »
    Just a word of caution, be wary of obtaining certs without the required experience for validation. I say the ones you have are enough, but if WGU requires you to obtain those certifications then go for it. If this isn't the case, then I'd hold off until you can get some work experience.

I don't think it would matter much since they are entry-level certs that don't require any experience and they are required by WGU. He can always leave them off his resume too if it's not applicable at all to the job he's applying at.

As for the OP's question, would any of these certs help you in a job? If not, then it probably doesn't matter too much since they aren't related much. I did my Project+ early on and it was not too time consuming although it's pretty boring.
  • Options
    sbucklandsbuckland Member Posts: 16 ■□□□□□□□□□