Options

CCNA part of WGU's InfoSec but not NetAdmin?

proprioceptiveproprioceptive Member Posts: 10 ■□□□□□□□□□
So I'm new to this stuff and I'm trying to decide between a degree in NetAdmin vs InfoSec at WGU. I noticed that they have the CCNA cert as part of the InfoSec track but not the NetAdmin track. Then I started looking at some other certifications and noticed that the MTA Security cert isn't even a part of the InfoSec degree. To me, it almost seems like some of these certs are randomly thrown around. Anyone know why this is? I would just as much assume that the Cisco networking certs would be a part of the NetAdmin and not InfoSec.

Comments

• Options
    srabieesrabiee Member Posts: 1,231 ■■■■■■■■□□
    The Network Design & Management stuff got moved over to the Network Administration degree, and the Network Administration stuff got moved over to the Security degree. Happened about a month ago. I agree it's weird.

If you want to focus on Microsoft technologies, go Network Administration (which should now be called "System Administration")

If you want to focus on Cisco technologies, go Security.
    WGU Progress: Master of Science - Information Technology Management (Start Date: February 1, 2015)
    Completed: LYT2, TFT2, JIT2, MCT2, LZT2, SJT2 (17 CU's)
    Required: FXT2, MAT2, MBT2, C391, C392 (13 CU's)

Bachelor of Science - Information Technology Network Design & Management (WGU - Completed August 2014)
  • Options
    Cisc0kiddCisc0kidd Member Posts: 250
    MTA Security is a very low level cert. No reason for it to be in the Security emphasis.
  • Options
    Cisc0kidd wrote: »
    MTA Security is a very low level cert. No reason for it to be in the Security emphasis.

From what I read about the cert, that seems understandable, but moving the Cisco certs from Networking to Security just baffled me.
  • Options
    Cisc0kiddCisc0kidd Member Posts: 250