HP Proliant DL160 ESXi install

Jon_CiscoJon_Cisco Member Posts: 1,772 ■■■■■■■■□□
Hi guys I am trying to get ready for my next semester and ordered a server to run ESXi.
I have never used a rack mount server before and I am wondering about the basic setup.

Do I need to add a monitor and keyboard to the server for the install.
Can I install the ESXi on the USB flash drive before I put it on the server?

I tried to look for a youtube video specifically with the HP Proliant DL160 G6 but didn't come up with much.
Anyway I just wanted to post and let everyone know I appreciate the feedback I was given over the last two weeks. I don't know what I'll be doing with this server yet but I know I'm off to a good start. If anyone has any tips from setting up ESXi themselves I would love the feedback.

I purchased the following items so far.

HP Proliant DL160 G6 1U 2X Xeon QC L5520 2 26GHz 4XTRAYS 72GB DDR3
500Gig SSD
8gig flash drive

Comments

• ShdwmageShdwmage Member Posts: 374
    So I have an identical machine if you posted from e-bay. I had a hard time finding a program that would make the ISO into a bootable USB drive properly. The easiest way to do it would be to burn a DVD and install, but I don't have an external drive. So I had to come up with other options.

I am trying to recall which tool I ended up using. I believe it was the one listed in this blog: TinkerTry IT @ home | Rufus takes 2 minutes to create a bootable USB flash drive for ESXi installation
    --
    “Hey! Listen!” ~ Navi
    2013: [x] MCTS 70-680
    2014: [x] 22-801 [x] 22-802 [x] CIW Web Foundation Associate
    2015 Goals: [] 70-410
  • Jon_CiscoJon_Cisco Member Posts: 1,772 ■■■■■■■■□□
    thanks I did order it off ebay after reading the
    "Need help to build virtualization lab" thread.

I'll take a look at your suggestions tonight. I am hoping the server arrives today as I want to have it set up by next week.

Jon
  • jibbajabbajibbajabba Member Posts: 4,317 ■■■■■■■■□□