Options

Set my test date!

kbowen0188kbowen0188 Member Posts: 87 ■■□□□□□□□□
So, I am studying for the 70-410. I have no major experience with servers, but I have worked for about 3 years as a Windows 7 field tech. I am looking to advance my career to a System Admin position, or a Junior System Admin position. I have books, videos and a lab set up.

What should my test date be? I will sit here and be indecisive all day long if I don't get a little push, so I figured you folks might know what a reasonable amount of time is to study. I have a full time job, but can study a bit on it.

I appreciate it. :)

Comments

• Options
    pjd007pjd007 Member Posts: 277 ■■■□□□□□□□
    If you've got no server experience you'll probably find the exam very difficult but obviously you won't know until you try, you're probably doing the right thing looking to book it as it'll put some pressure on to do the study.

I'd say 6 weeks from now if you're starting today but it depends on how many hours per day you can spare I think most people look to do 2-4hrs per day.

Good luck.
  • Options
    nachodbanachodba Member Posts: 201 ■■■□□□□□□□
    I would be prepared to spend 2-4 hours per day like pjd007 said, but also I would dedicate at least every other weekend towards lab work. My schedule when I was doing the certifications was 2-4 hours a night throughout the week and at least 8-10 hours on the weekends. I took about a month per exam with this schedule, but I wanted to be safe.
    2020 Goals
    work-life balance
  • Options
    bub9001bub9001 Member Posts: 229 ■■■□□□□□□□
    It really boils down to how fast you can learn and how much time you want to devote to it. I would love to have 4 hours to give to studying daily and 8-10 hours on the weekend, but I have a life outside of my job and certs.