Options

Home lab doubts / setup help

nvrl8agnnvrl8agn Member Posts: 5 ■□□□□□□□□□
So I am new to Cisco tech and studying for my CCNA. I bought some stuff off of ebay for a home lab and am now concerned that I may not have gotten all I needed and that I may not be able to set it up and still have my home network run. I bought the following 2 X 2950 switches 1 2611 XM router 1 2621 XM router I did not buy any memory upgrades or module cards at the time because I thought they had more to do with performance as opposed to functionality. As I learn more I think I may need to buy two WIC 1T modules and a DCE/DTE cable in order to connect the two routers to do some trunking. Are there any other things I HAVE to have in order to properly study for my CCNA R/S? All of these devices can be connected using straight and crossover cables correct? Second I am unsure how I should pursue connecting my lab. Currently my home network consists of a cable modem connected to a Linksys EA3500 router that gives me 4 port connections and Wi-Fi. I am unsure where I should insert the CISCO network. Can I just connect one of the XM routers to one of my home router ports and go from there? Or will I have to connect my cable modem to my xm router, connect that to the other router and switches and then plug my home router into one of the switches. Sorry to ask such an entry level question as normally I would be happy to spend hours and days figuring this out but my wife is expecting a baby in three weeks and I am trying to bang this out before he arrives. I have the book learning down and have been playing with router and switch configuration individually but I need it to all come together. Thanks for the insight!

Comments

• Options
    cygnus21cygnus21 Member Posts: 49 ■■□□□□□□□□
    If I were you I wouldn't connect this stuff to my home network, because you will be changing configs a lot and it may cause trouble with your network. There are two options for working with your lab.