Options

Simulator Questions

chronos42chronos42 Member Posts: 91 ■■□□□□□□□□
Alright, I've been searching through forums here and elsewhere trying to avoid cluttering up this page with more of the same question, but I can't seem to come to a conclusive answer for my current situation, so I am here to ask for your help.

I am currently studying for ICND1 (with ICND2 obviously to follow). I'm reading through Odom's ICND1 book, and when finished, I'll read Lammle's book as well. Now I'm just trying to figure out the best additional materials to pair all of this with.

Simulators:

- I currently have Packet Tracer (and GNS3, fwiw), but am looking into a simulator that will provide me with labs as well.

- Odom's CCNA Simulator follows his book very well and has a lot of labs, but doesn't have a free-play sandbox mode, and also includes step-by-step instructions for each lab instead of giving a goal and saying "go".

- Boson's NetSim 10 for CCNA has labs and a sandboxed mode and comes highly recommended, but I'm wondering if paying $154 for a sandbox is worth it if I already have Packet Tracer for that purpose. Are the labs that come with Boson worth the price/better than Odom?

Practice Exams:

- I'm currently leaning toward purchasing Boson's practice exams when I'm ready to start taking them, and if you guys have any guidance for/against this decision, I'm all ears.

I greatly appreciate any and all help you guys can provide. Cheers.

Comments

• Options
    mikeybinecmikeybinec Member Posts: 484 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Big fan of Boson!! I always recommend buying real hardware because it forces you to install a patch panel and build crossover and straight thru cables, and getting a laptop with usb to console cable. PT is ok for checking quick show commands IF that command is supported in PT. I don't do GNS because of the fact you have to obtain a Cisco flash image and frankly, it can be construed as stealing software (although everybody does it, 'cept me)