Passed CISSP on first attempt

victor58victor58 Member Posts: 25 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello Everyone,

I am glad to inform everyone that I have passed the CISSP exam on first attempt this past Friday. This will be a long post but I am sure it will help people who have been dedicated on this exam preparation. A brief background about me- I have about 5 years of work experience most of it being in information security. Academically, I have a Bachelor's in Computer Science and an MS in Information Security.

I took the CISSP boot camp with SecureNinja in Jan-2014 mainly because I wanted to take class with Clement Dupuis (one behind cccure.org). I didn't do any preparation and hence the bootcamp wasn't much useful for me. End of Feb was when i started studying, aiming to take the Exam in Oct. Around March this year, I booked the exam for Oct 24. During the last 6-7 months, I studies through numerous books/resources some of which are highlighted below.

1. AIO 6th Shon Harris- Very good for concept building although its hard to read this. Before the exam i tried to read all the summaries at the end of chapter and provided in highlights after every few pages.
2. Eric Conrad 2nd Edition- I started reading this and finished about 8/10 domains. It created a base and confidence to start going through AIO.
3. Eric Conrad 11th Hour- Read it 2-3 times but didn't do it in last few days. I think it lacks enough content.
4. Practice Questions from Shon Harris- Great questions. Focussed on scenario based- exam based on scenarios.
5. Total Tested CD- about 1000 questions- Good questions
6. Cccure paid- Did all questions- about 900. - not much useful as its pure memorization of concepts.
7. Transcender’s CISSP Exam questions - Did all the questions, i think about 1000. Good thing with these are that they provide detailed answers of why a certain option is right and why others are wrong. You can use this for preparation in office even if you havent gone through the book on your own.