Options

Starting my training in VMWARE

alexfamousalexfamous Member Posts: 17 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello,

I am new to the board. I am an IT professional with two certs. I have my A+ and Network+. I took the Server+ this past tuesday but missed the mark by 50 points. I was dissapointed, but will pass the next attempt. Currently I just started my training for my VCA-DCV cert from VMware. I am enrolled in the online class provided by VMware. I am reading other posts on this cert and I am getting mixed reviews. I think I should be ok with the video training but I am not entirely sure. Any opinions? Is Citrix a viable option also?

Comments

• Options
    VeritiesVerities Member Posts: 1,162
    I would recommend studying for the VCP-DCV instead of the VCA-DCV. Watch the videos to learn a high level overview of their products. The VCA is an unproctored exam and doesn't really have any industry recognition (the only reason I got mine, was due to a free voucher). However, if you plan on aiming for the VCA, despite this, then yes the videos will be sufficient for the exam. As far as learning more about VMware I recommend vSphere for Dummies.
  • Options
    Thanks. The main reason why i am taking the VCA is that I reached out to a education rep at VMware and he suggested to take the VCA as a precursor to the VCP. I figure it could not hurt. I do plan to take the VCP-DCV in the near future. How is studying for the VCP? are you self studying or taking a class?
  • Options
    iBrokeITiBrokeIT Member Posts: 1,318 ■■■■■■■■■□
    You have to take a VMware approved class and pass the exam before you can receive the VCP level certification.

Mastering VMware vSphere 5.5 by Scott Lowe is THE book to get if you are studying for the VCP.

The book and class are not enough for most people to pass the exam. You must also lab lab lab lab and lab some more in order to get enough familiarity with the product to pass the exam.
    2019: GPEN | GCFE | GXPN | GICSP | CySA+ 
    2020: GCIP | GCIA