Options

Masters degree or more certs?

Well I am thinking about buckling down and getting the master’s degree I have been putting off since 2009. I have a feeling that it is going to start being a requirement for a lot of INFOSEC jobs out there, more than it already is.
I don’t really see the urgent need to get this done as I already meet most of the requirements for jobs, but I do have a feeling that I would like to teach information security at a university someday and that would require at least a master’s degree from what I understand.

Basically, should I continue to pursue certs like CISA, CISSP-ISSAP/ISSEP, GCIH, CISM…or should I get the master’s degree?

I do not have time to do both at this moment.

P.S. I am currently in the INFOSEC field. ISSM

Comments

• Options
    cyberguyprcyberguypr Mod Posts: 6,928 Mod
    I gotta say at least here in the Midwest emphasis seems to be on certs and experience. I always keep an eye on hands-on Infosec positions and not many seem to require or suggest Masters. Only time I've seen it mentioned is for CISO, CSO, or similar managerial roles. Having said that, for teaching, it is a must.
  • Options
    datacombossdatacomboss Member Posts: 304 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Since you have the CISSP, you should pursue the MS or MBA.
    "If I were to say, 'God, why me?' about the bad things, then I should have said, 'God, why me?' about the good things that happened in my life."

Arthur Ashe

• Options
    ajs1976ajs1976 Member Posts: 1,945 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Sounds like we are interested in the same jobs, but you are a couple of years ahead of me since I need to finish my BS and pass the CISSP. Look through the ads for the jobs that interest you.