Home lab or Packet Tracer for CCNA R&S?

RedGaiterRedGaiter Member Posts: 83 ■■□□□□□□□□
I'm wondering if you need a home lab to achieve, and be competent with, CCNA R&S or if Packet Tracer is good enough.

If you do need a home lab, what would be a good setup that's affordable? I was thinking of maybe
  • Cisco 1750/1751 x2
  • Cisco 2950 x2
Would that be a good home lab or am I out to lunch?

I was also considering the basic 2 router 2 switch kit from http://www.certificationkits.com/basic-2-router-2-switch-kit/

Comments

• NotHackingYouNotHackingYou Member Posts: 1,460 ■■■■■■■■□□
    I did a home lab. 2x 2601's with WIC 1T cards + t1 crossover and and 2x 2950's.
    When you go the extra mile, there's no traffic.
  • markulousmarkulous Member Posts: 2,394 ■■■■■■■■□□
    I'm studying for the same test and Packet Tracer so far has been good enough. Seems to emulate routers and switches pretty well.
  • J_86J_86 Member Posts: 262 ■■□□□□□□□□
    Also check out GNS3 for alternatives to having real equipment for your CCNA studies: Graphical Network Simulator - GNS3
  • [Deleted User][Deleted User] Senior Member Posts: 0 ■■□□□□□□□□
    Home Lab all the way. It's better then Packet Tracer mainly because if you go on to advanced studies such as CCNP or CCIE, you will need the hardware. Also, when you are on the job, you cannot sim your way through life. Is it convenient yes but it is a better investment. You may also want to consider looking at the Cisco simulators offered by Cisco themselves or Boson offers their own simulators.
  • TechGuru80TechGuru80 Member Posts: 1,539 ■■■■■■□□□□