Options

Huge knock to my confidence - didn't get a job

si20si20 Member Posts: 543 ■■■■■□□□□□
I'm currently working as a Security Analyst on £25k. I've been there for 6 months but the 12 hour shifts are killing me. I've put on weight because of it. So I began doing the OSCP course and applied for a junior pen testing role. The interview went VERY well if I may say so myself. I'm not even deluding myself, I was asked about XSS, SQLi, Metasploit etc. I answered around 15/20 of his interview questions perfectly.

The junior pen tester role was between £20-30k and I recieved an email today from the lady who was recruiting for the position saying that I didn't get the job because the company felt that my penetration testing knowledge was "very weak". Whilst I admit i'm not an expert hacker, or security expert, to get rejected from a job with a starting salary of 20k and for them to consider my pen-testing knowledge "very weak" was upsetting to say the least.

I'm stuck in a dead-end job at the moment and i'm unsure where to go. Any advice?

Comments

• Options
    Dieg0MDieg0M Member Posts: 861
    Study/practice and get better.
    Follow my CCDE journey at www.routingnull0.com
  • Options
    aidan80aidan80 Member Posts: 147 ■■□□□□□□□□
    Keep at it, you'll get better and/or most likely you'll find a much better fit with another company. I applied for a position almost a year ago and didn't get it. Recently it's come to light they let their first choice go. He impressed the interviews more than I obviously but turned out he couldn't live up to doing the job. I was asked to take the position now that it's open however I've declined taking another position instead. It's funny how things turn out sometimes, who knows where you'll be or doing 6 months or a year from now.
  • Options
    si20si20 Member Posts: 543 ■■■■■□□□□□