Options

Need some career advice.

caitchkcaitchk Registered Users Posts: 4 ■■■□□□□□□□
I graduated with a BBA in MIS May 2013. I have been working in Help Desk positions ever since I graduated since I thought I would be going into Networking then Security as an end goal. Lately, I have been thinking of going into a BI role with a focus into data analytics.

The problem I have is that I want to do so many different things in IT, networking, security, programming, databases, etc., that it's severely hindering my ability to progress my career. I know I have to just make a decision but it's proving very difficult for me to make that decision.

So I just wanted to ask what TE thinks of my predicament. Any advice, criticism, etc. is welcomed.

Comments

• Options
    aftereffectoraftereffector Member Posts: 525 ■■■■□□□□□□
    There are a lot of fun career tracks in IT - you mentioned quite a few of them already. Fortunately, though, they aren't mutually exclusive. You are doing helpdesk right now, and you could move into networking and then eventually security like you previously planned - or you might discover an opportunity in big data and move that way instead. For now I'd focus on the next step and not worry so much about the long term (20 year) plan. Where do you want to be next? What skills will help you get there?
    CCIE Security - this one might take a while...
  • Options
    MeanDrunkR2D2MeanDrunkR2D2 Member Posts: 899 ■■■■■□□□□□
    Best way to gauge it is to either chat with folks you know in that role and ask them questions about what a normal day is like. Find out if there are anything crazy as far as situations go and how stressful they are and how they manage that. Find out how face paced it is and if you like that or not. If you don't have anyone in person, you may want to reach out to a local linkedin group and ask questions for them about what they like, don't like and the challenges that they face day in and day out.