Options

Passed CISSP Today - Here was my plan

griffondggriffondg Member Posts: 39 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hello, I've been a lurker for a couple of months on the site and have learned so much that I decided I needed to give back.

First, about me: 16 years in IT with the past 4+ dedicated to security. Prior to that I was a sys admin for 10 years. I've been fortunate to have been exposed to most of the domains with the exception of Security Architecture and Software Development.

Books Used:
AIO - read about 20% of the first domain and realized there was NO way I could read 1,400 more pages
Conrad Study Guide - Loved
11th Hour - Very Good

Practice Exams:
Total Tester - Decent
McGraw Hill - Good
CCCure - I like the interface and the customization options but many of the questions were way too technical and some seem dated
Transcender - Decent
Conrad Online - Good
Shon Harris Practice Exams Book - Scenario questions were good
ISC2 IPad Questions - Good questions but some had no explanations which was rather annoying
A CISSP app for iPhone that had like 500 questions - mediocre but only cost 10 bucks

Study Guides:
Combined CISSP Notes from this site - Awesome
Sunflower PDF - Decent but dated

My plan:
I decided to go "All-In" on the Conrad Suite and not bother with any other primary sources. But I did a LOT of practice questions; probably answered over 7,500 and over 5,000 of those were unique.

I first started to read the Conrad book and take a lot of notes but honestly this method doesn't work for me. I was busy writing but not absorbing. I know for most people this works for them but I've NEVER been a note taker. I'm better at just reading to comprehend so I decided to just read through the book start to finish, only answering the end of chapter questions. At this time I purchased the CCCure subscription and did a mock test of 100-200 questions. Scored mid 60's or so. This took me a couple of weeks.