Options

Finished WGU BS-IT my experience

NotHackingYouNotHackingYou Member Posts: 1,460 ■■■■■■■■□□
On Friday, I finished my bachelor of science in IT- software with WGU. I thought I'd take a minute to post some details about my experience that I couldn't find elsewhere but I hope will be helpful to others on this journey.

The program took me 28 months from start to finish. I transferred in my CCNA and Security+, which took out 4 classes. Everything else, I did at WGU - including all gen ed credits. I did everything through Sallie Mae and made payments while in school. I owe less than the cost of 1 year's attendance at a typical college.

I passed all WGU assessments on the first go and used only Kryterion. The webcam was never an issue.

I never had anything returned for revision from TaskStream. My taskstream assignments were always graded quickly. My capstone was 43 pages.

I failed one vendor assessment - the OCA Java 7. I sent a re-study plan to the course mentor and had no issues getting a second attempt approved.

Best of luck to everyone currently attending school or planning to attend school. You can do it!
When you go the extra mile, there's no traffic.

Comments

• Options
    cyberguyprcyberguypr Mod Posts: 6,928 Mod
    Congrats on completing the degree!
  • Options
    ItrimbleItrimble Member Posts: 221
    Congratulations. I hope to finish in the next term.
    Goals for 2015 : Finish BS Network Administration at WGU
    Become CCNA, CISSP, CEH, VCP5-10 Certified
    Possible Start Masters in Information Security
  • Options
    earonw49earonw49 Member Posts: 190 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Awesome! I JUST got word that I have been officially accepted into the BS:IT Security program at WGU. I start January 1st. Glad to see your success with the university! It really encourages me and gets me pumped even more to start icon_study.gif
    WGU B.S. IT - Progress: Feb 2015 - End Date Jan 2018