Options

Career in SCCM and VMware?

hptennis14hptennis14 Registered Users Posts: 4 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello all. I am a desktop administrator for a healthcare company. I deal with SCCM and VMware Horizon View on a daily basis. Can I further my career in these fields or would it be better to either specialize in one or the other?? Also, what certifications would you recommend for me advancing my career?? Right now, I push out windows updates, patches, and software applications from SCCM. We have over 2,500 workstations and looking to make the next step in my career and would like extra opinions and thoughts.

Comments

• Options
    ItrimbleItrimble Member Posts: 221
    You can most certainly further your career with both of those platforms. SCVMM is great in the fact that you can mangage Hyper-V, ESX, and Xen hosts. If I were you I would look into the MS 74-409 (Hyper V & System Center) , and the VCP 550 (Virtualizing the data center) System center is a very versatile tool for monitoring, patching, deploying, and managing clusters, and individual vms.

I would look into designing the software designed network and software designed data center.
    Goals for 2015 : Finish BS Network Administration at WGU
    Become CCNA, CISSP, CEH, VCP5-10 Certified
    Possible Start Masters in Information Security
  • Options
    ChitownjediChitownjedi Member Posts: 578 ■■■■■□□□□□
    I agree with Itrimble. If you are headed down the path I think you are headed, you will definitely need both, as Hyper-V and Vmware will be partners in a lot of data centers going foward as Hyper-V fines niche roles in testing environments where the reduced cost and licensing fee's help make it a alternative to VMware when it comes to the non production servers and testing environments being developed ...blah blah blah