Options

Shon Harris - AIO - 6th Edition: Totally Needed?

RobicusRobicus Member Posts: 144 ■■■□□□□□□□
Hi everyone,

I started studying for the CISSP a few months ago, strictly sticking to Shon Harris' AIO 6th edition (Note: I've been studying at a very casual pace).

I'm currently reading through AIO cover-to-cover, and honestly, am finding it to be pretty brutal. I'm currently 33% done (about 462 pages into it) and have been taking electronic notes on each domain so far. I'm pretty thorough and usually end up with about 30-40 pages of notes per domain-- which probably explains why going through this beast of a book is taking me so much time.

My question is: Do I really need to read this cover-to-cover? How many people used it just as a reference? How many people didn't use it at all?

I was thinking of switching to Conrad's book.

Thanks!
What's Next? eLearnSecurity's eCIR

MSISE, CISSP, GSE (#202), GSEC, GCIA, GCIH, GPEN, GMON, GCFE, GCCC, GCPM, eJPT, AWS CCP

Comments

• Options
    cyberguyprcyberguypr Mod Posts: 6,928 Mod
    Short answer is NO, but that depends on your experience and familiarity with the domains. Check the "passed CISSP" threads and you'll see what everyone has been using. I planned on using the AIO as my primary resource but quickly found fit overly verbose and couldn't handle it. I switched to the Conrad guide and used the AIO only for my weakest domains.
  • Options
    TheProfezzorTheProfezzor Member Posts: 204 ■■■□□□□□□□