how does NOT having a COMPUTER SCIENCE DEGREE effect me in the long run?

Bchen22Bchen22 Banned Posts: 58 ■■□□□□□□□□
So lets say this I have a degree in a Bachelors of Arts in Computer Technology NOT COMPUTER SCIENCE.
How does this affect your job prospects and or earnings?
Many people say it doesn't matter what degree you have as long as its a tech degree and some people also say you wont be as competitive as computer science grads?
what do you guys think?

Comments

• StarkeStarke Member Posts: 86 ■■□□□□□□□□
    Any company I've worked for or had an interview with really didn't care about this. I have my associates and that's it and if I had nothing I don't think it would have mattered. I live in the north east and work as a senior level consultant making well over six figures. Some combination of experience, certifications and education is all you need. If you're looking to go into consulting being smart AND having personal skills is important. Most people who have IT expertise have terrible people skills. Good luck.
    MCSA: Windows Server 2012 - MCITP (SA, EA, EMA) - CCA (XD4, XD5, XS5, XS6) - VCP 4
  • pinkydapimppinkydapimp Member Posts: 732 ■■■■■□□□□□
    At the end of the day, it will limit the jobs available to you because many jobs require it. Can you be successful? Absolutely. But the Comp sci makes things a little easier for you by checking those boxes that hiring managers are looking for. This is especially the case with more technical roles and in the security realm. I think it also provides strong foundational skills that help you throughout your IT career as well. But at the end of the day, you can still have a great career with it out. But if you have the choice between the two degrees, i think choosing anything other than comp sci is a poor decision. But if it isnt for you and you like the other program better, than do you. Just my .03 cents.
  • JDMurrayJDMurray Admin Posts: 13,081 Admin