Other jobs you wanted to do?

CyberscumCyberscum Member Posts: 795 ■■■■■□□□□□
I have been debating something and wonder what your take on it is.

I aspired to be an electrical engineer when I first started college, but never completed my studies and succumbed to the temptation to “just get a degree” philosophy. I have had many years experience in electronics, avionics, telecommunications etc…and they still fascinate me to this day, but I somehow ended up in IT.

My question is this, if you had a dream of working in a specific job or industry and ended up in IT what has prevented you from going back?

I do “kinda”enjoy IT and specifically security, but I work alongside engineers and always think that job would be very rewarding.

At 31 though I feel I might have missed my prime icon_sad.gif

Comments

• moe12moe12 Member Posts: 65 ■■□□□□□□□□
    Never too late
  • cyberguyprcyberguypr Mod Posts: 6,928 Mod
    My dream since I was in junior high was to be an architect. Well, I though that's what I wanted, but when the time came to make a choice my real calling, what moved me and brought excitement was IT. So no regrets.

Now, if I ever win the lottery big time I would leave IT and do something related to my non-work passions: cars, guns, and beautiful women. That reminds my I haven't played my numbers this week :)
  • dsgmdsgm Member Posts: 228 ■■■□□□□□□□
    cyberguypr wrote: »
    My dream since I was in junior high was to be an architect. Well, I though that's what I wanted, but when the time came to make a choice my real calling, what moved me and brought excitement was IT. So no regrets.

Now, if I ever win the lottery big time I would leave IT and do something related to my non-work passions: cars, guns, and beautiful women. That reminds my I haven't played my numbers this week :)

Man after my own heart Cars guns,beautiful women and travel if i ever hit the lottery
  • JustFredJustFred Member Posts: 678 ■■■□□□□□□□