Options

First job $37.5k?

snipzasnipza Member Posts: 12 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi all. I just graduated from college with a B. B. A. in Info Sys. And Tech.

I accepted an offer of $37.5 k / year at a private company as a Support Desk Analyst. It's about $18/hr broken down. I don't have any IT experience except a 3 month IT internship at a school District (mainly help desk stuff and occasional onsite trips) and my own personal experience building and fixing family computers. No certs either.

Job is 40 hrs a week with decent benefits (401k match, health, vacation, and sick pay).

Is this a good offer? This is my first time landing a non-retail job. So, I'm unsure. I feel it's decent because I have no certs and limited experience. Let me know what you think!

Thanks.

Comments

• Options
    Danielm7Danielm7 Member Posts: 2,310 ■■■■■■■■□□
    Sure, it's a stepping stone like any first job in a field. Unless your local cost of living is crazy that's just fine. Check any of the salary sites to find out the average salaries in your area.
  • Options
    techfiendtechfiend Member Posts: 1,481 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Support desk is often a very good learning experience and not very stressful. That's well above average pay and benefits for entry level.
    2018 AWS Solutions Architect - Associate (Apr) 2017 VCAP6-DCV Deploy (Oct) 2016 Storage+ (Jan)
    2015 Start WGU (Feb) Net+ (Feb) Sec+ (Mar) Project+ (Apr) Other WGU (Jun) CCENT (Jul) CCNA (Aug) CCNA Security (Aug) MCP 2012 (Sep) MCSA 2012 (Oct) Linux+ (Nov) Capstone/BS (Nov) VCP6-DCV (Dec) ITILF (Dec)
  • Options
    J_86J_86 Member Posts: 262 ■■□□□□□□□□
    Always depends on where you are located, but it my area that is above average for an entry level support/help desk position.
    Good luck!
  • Options