Options

Half Way There...Passed ICND1 today!

CCIE Wanna BeCCIE Wanna Be Member Posts: 95 ■■□□□□□□□□
Early present to myself, passed ICND1 today with a 973, I studied pretty heavily for about 6 weeks straight. I do not have a background in networking but I do touch on some networking task at my work, but nothing equipment related.

Study Materials:
  • Cisco Press Official Certification Guide
  • Chris Bryant’s CCNA Boot Camp Videos
  • Boson NetSim 10
  • Boson ExMax Test
Word of Advice:
  • Make a study plan, set a date, and stick with it
  • Practice, Practice, Practice, and then Practice some more
  • Did I mention Practice?
  • Doesn't matter what practice test you use, but take several to get a feel (Boson are the most realistic, but way more detailed than what is expected for you to know on the exam (IMHO))
  • Use this forum to your advantage, I did!
Test Tips:
  • Know subnetting as if your life depended on it
  • Any and all show commands are your friend
  • Know OSPF and its configuration
  • NFLB everything (Network Address, First Address, Last Address, Broadcast Address), thanks “Byronicbluez”, great tip!
  • Pace yourself and don’t rush, some questions are harder than others, so time really does end up balancing out.

Let me know if I can help with anything else (be mindful of the NDA). I have week-long break over the Christmas and New Year’s holiday that I plan to enjoy (with a little less stress now), then back to it for ICND2.
In Progress:
WGU B.S. - I.T. - Security (and all the certs that come with it)

Comments

• Options
    JoJoCal19JoJoCal19 Mod Posts: 2,835 Mod
    Congrats on the pass and thanks for the tips! I'm two chapters in to CCENT study and will use your advice. I'm using Lammle's book, and I also have the Chris Bryant videos I will follow up with. I will definitely be checking out Boson when I get through those items.