Options

network adapter not recognize during esxi 5.x installation

fredmoofredmoo Member Posts: 10 ■□□□□□□□□□
when i boot up to windows 7, it recognizes the ethernet adapter, works fine no issue. this suggest the adapter and cable are fine.

however during installation of vsphere hypervisor 5.x, it says cannot detect network adapter.

what can this issue be?

thanks

Comments

• Options
    tstrip007tstrip007 Member Posts: 308 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Need more info. Your installing esxi on a server? Is the server listed on the HCL? I have run into some installs where I have needed a custom ESXI image.
  • Options
    fredmoofredmoo Member Posts: 10 ■□□□□□□□□□
    i'm installing it as a bare-metal hypervisor. booting from the cd the .iso image. sorry, im new to virtualization. hcl = hard compatiblity list?

the desktop tower is dell optiplex 790.
  • Options
    tstrip007tstrip007 Member Posts: 308 ■■■■□□□□□□
    You will need to see if the dell has a custom esxi image built for that specific server. If not you will have to build a custom image your self with the NIC driver pre loaded.
  • Options
    dave330idave330i Member Posts: 2,091 ■■■■■■■■■■
    Go to VMware Compatibility Guide: System Search and see if your NIC is listed. It probably isn't since ESXi can't find it.

Dell may have a custom image with the NIC driver added.
    2018 Certification Goals: Maybe VMware Sales Cert
    "Simplify, then add lightness" -Colin Chapman
  • Options
    hiddenknight821hiddenknight821 Member Posts: 1,209 ■■■■■■□□□□
    I have this whitebox with an incompatible NIC, and I tried to follow the link tstrip007 provided, but it overwhelmed me. So I figured I'm far better off getting a compatible NIC and call it a day. Mind you, I'm new to the virtualization arena.