CISSP Exam scheduled for 01/05/2015

Mdluffy317Mdluffy317 Member Posts: 9 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi everyone. I'm a long time lurker to this forum, but registered today as I've taken the next big step by registering for the CISSP exam. I've been studying for 3 months, really turned up the pace couple of weeks when I took off from work for the holidays. I've put in 4 to 6 hours of study daily and at this point i feel like my brain is now saturated with knowledge of all 10 domains.

My background is primarily in software development, c++/c#, pl/sql, web/java script and security. Ive design low level host based url filtering software, pki authentication solutions, distributed databases, and provided support to network operations (vendor protocol analysis), and created user access management tools for security administrators. Architected VM based environments for software development and testing and was an early adopter of Amazons AWS and Azure cloud services. I work for the DoD and looking to take my career to the next level by focusing more on info security/cybersecurity track as I see real career growth opportunity compared to where I am today as a software developer.

Within the last 4 years, my software development responsibilities have split evenly between designing software and ensuring the software passes IS control audits. In addition, I have been heavily involved with drafting software change, access, and security policies and procedures at the system level. Within my system there are dedicated personnel with INFOSEC responsibilities, however I find their expertise of regulations, best practices, security concepts is very shallow compared to mine, therefore they rely on my expertise quite often. I am pursuing the CISSP certificate as a way to boost my career in the long run.

For study material, I read the Shon Harris AIO twice, Eric Conrad 11th Hour twice (will review again night before the exam), CISSP V1.1 SUMMARY (plan on reviewing this again the morning of the exam).