Options

Study Time Required For CCENT & CCNA

orlandoflorlandofl Member Posts: 216 ■■■□□□□□□□
(I posted something similar to this on the Linux Forum "in regards to Linux", Wanted get an idea of which certification to do after Net+ with my time frame)

I’m Travis. I have a couple years of experience in technology as a PC tech, ISP service installation/troubleshooting tech, and telecommunications (RF). I’m currently studying for the Network+ exam and sit for it next Tuesday. I had a question about study time for CCENT and CCNA. I was recently laid off from a tech job with Ericsson and have a few months to get some certs before going back to work. My question is, do you think studying 8 hours a day, 5 days a week for a month-5 weeks (160 hours-200 hours) is enough for time for one pass the CCENT, and can that same course of study be replicated for the CCNA (part 2) exam? I have the time to put into it, I just want to make sure it can actually be done in that time frame. Also, for the 2nd exam (200-101) after 4 weeks of self-study I would recap with the official CCNA course @ New Horizons in Orlando, FL.
List of study materials (If I’m lacking please let me know):

· Wendell Odom’s CCENT/CCNA ICND1 100-101 Official Cert Guide
http://www.amazon.com/CCENT-ICND1-100-101-Official-Guide/dp/1587143852/ref=sr_1_4?
s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1421187206&sr=1-4&keywords=CCNA&pebp=1421187381985&peasin=1587143852

· Wendell Odom Labs
CCENT ICND1 100-101 Network Simulator: Wendell Odom, Sean Wilkins: 9780789750433: Amazon.com: Books

· CBT Nuggets

· Last but not least the official CCNA (200-101) course @ New Horizons Orlando (finishing off my GI Bill with the course)

Thank you,
-Travis
  • Education: B.A. Criminal Justice - Thomas Edison State University
  • Education: Undergraduate Certificate in Microsoft Server Administration - St. Petersburg College
  • Currently Working On: MCSA - Windows 10
  • Planned Certifications for 2017: MCSE - Mobility