Options

How much hard is the CCNA?

marcj04marcj04 Member Posts: 75 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hey guys,

So I just recently got my Network+ not that long ago. It took me a month of studying to really understand everything. I have zero networking experience but now I feel like I have a general grasp on the world of networking.

After reading around, it seems that a Bachelors in Information Systems, A network+ and around 8 months of IT Support experience won't be enough to land a Network Admin job. I was planning on working on the CCNA after I graduated because I wanted to focus on school but I need to land a Network Admin job after graduation so I am just going to tough it out and pretty much drop my social life and work on the CCNA while in school and working.

My question is, how much harder are the ICND1 and the ICND2 exams? Should I take the ICND1 soon since the Network+ is still fresh in my mind? I hear that they are pretty similar.

My plan is to get the Wendell Odom books as well as subscribing to CBT Nuggets. I am also going to buy some routers and switches once I find out what exactly I will need to build a home lab.

Do you guys think I could pass the CCNA within 6 months if I am just studying two hours a week?

Thanks for the advice everyone. Also if anyone could point me in the right direction for what to buy so I can practice for the CCNA, that would be greatly appreciated. I have seen some "CCNA Packages" online but I don't know if that would be enough.

*EDIT* I know I mispelled the thread title lol. I wrote this up pretty quickly as I need to get some homework done

Comments

• Options
    Jon_CiscoJon_Cisco Member Posts: 1,772 ■■■■■■■■□□