Options

Network Engineer

SimridSimrid Member Posts: 327
Hi everyone,

I was just wondering if you could help me out. I really would like to be come a network engineer and I guess the first place to start would be qualifications / certs. I am studying towards my CCNA which I hope to progress to Voice, Security and eventually a CCNP.

Is there any needed certs or qualifications to become a network engineer or any advice on how to get into the career? I'm currently employed and I do first and second line work.

Thanks,
Simon
Network Engineer | London, UK | Currently working on: CCIE Routing & Switching

sriddle.co.uk
uk.linkedin.com/in/simonriddle

Comments

• Options
    ccnpninjaccnpninja Member Posts: 1,010 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Certs are a good start. I encourage you to do your CCNA first. It's the basic block in network engineering. However, don't get frustrated by the amount of material you need to learn. Many people **** their way to higher status certs and find themselves stuck in basic network issues. I remember once I was in a meeting, and the guy beside me (a Senior Data Center Consultant) said something very funny about network management traffic. I almost laughed :)
    So get started and post your progress on TE!
  • Options
    Node ManNode Man Member Posts: 668 ■■■□□□□□□□
    My favorite advice to give is to make a list of the top companies that you would like to work for. Then study their job postings for requirements. Maybe friend a few people that work there on Linkedin.
  • Options
    ninjaturtleninjaturtle Member Posts: 245 ■■■□□□□□□□
    I had the same dream 8 years ago. It wasn't an easy climb, but let me tell you it's so worth it. Study as much as you can, read those books like no other and lab as much as possible. Do that day in and day out, and I promise you'll get noticed and you'll get that network engineer title!
    Current Study Discipline: CCIE Data Center