Options

CISM vs GSEC

Steelers09Steelers09 Registered Users Posts: 3 ■□□□□□□□□□
I am interesting in pursuing either the GSEC or CISM. And wanted to get people's general thoughts on both around here. I am learning toward the CISM given my background, but was told that the GSEC provides more hands on experience. My company will sponsor me for both and will also sponsor me to take the SEC401 course.

I have 5 years of experience in my career primarily focused in the IT Audit/Risk Management. I recently changed jobs to a new company in their IT audit group coming from an advisory/consulting firm. My next preferred career move would be in a management position in InfoSec area and long term path would be CISO/IT Security Director route. I already have my CISSP and CISA. Additionally I am looking to pursue my MBA from a top 50 part time program that my company will sponsor(already have been accepted), but I figured I'd pick up an additional certification in the interim as my company is willing to sponsor it.

Even though I already have an ISACA certification I feel like when I am looking for my next position that the CISM will help me more. However, I am very interesting in pursuing a SANS training and want to attend a training that is more hands on the InfoSec world. Thoughts?

Comments

• Options
    JoJoCal19JoJoCal19 Mod Posts: 2,835 Mod
    Based on everything you've said, I would not do the GSEC. Do the CISM and as for SANS course and GIAC certs, instead of the GSEC I would go for AUD507/GSNA, AUD566/GCCC, or MGT512/GSLC. Your desired career path mirrors my own so I'll list what I have and what I am planning on pursuing with regards to security management:

Have:
    BS Business Administration - University of Florida
    CISSP
    ITIL Foundation

In Progress:
    MS Information Security & Assurance - WGU
    CISM - June 2015

Next up:
    CISA
    Cobit 5 Foundation
    PMP
    Some of the SANS/GIAC courses and certs I listed above for you