Prepping for Exam

seigexseigex Member Posts: 105
Hi all, I'm new to Tech Exams. I was just offered a position within my organization that requires CISSP. I have to submit my resume for the position within the next month and a half, and have to take my CISSP with a quickness. I have been in IT since the 80's, even running a BBS in the early 90s, and worked in the military is satellite spacecraft control and networking, WAN/LAN networking, extensive linux experience, have a CCNA, and currently work as a software engineer.

Due to work requirements I can't take a boot camp, and have the test scheduled for 2/27. Basically my training consists of Shon Harris' AIO, 11th Hour, and CCCure paid quizes. I hope to report back here that I passed, but I'd lie if I said I wasn't nervous!

This site has been a great resource so far, thanks to everyone who contributes.

Oh and this is for CISSP, since I left it out of the title and can't add it now.

Comments

• AverageJoeAverageJoe Member Posts: 316 ■■■■□□□□□□
    As another old military IT guy who also ran a BBS in the 90s and passed the CISSP last year, I'd say you have good sources, good experience, and a good shot at passing the CISSP your first time. Good luck!
  • seigexseigex Member Posts: 105
    REMOVED UNNECESSARY QUOTED REPLY FROM PREVIOUS POST

Thanks! I miss the old BBS days, I was just reminiscing about the Legend of the Red Dragon board game, and running a FIDO Net server in the pre-internet days with my 2400 baud modem haha
  • dustervoicedustervoice Member Posts: 877 ■■■■□□□□□□
    If you must pass within a 1.5 months, i would recommend the Sybex or Eric Conrad 2nd edition book as your main study guide and use Shon Harris for your weak areas. your experience should help you a lot for the test. I would also recommend you read all the "passed" treads on this forum and use the following free resources for practice questions. Good luck and please share the good news with us when you pass.