Options

WGU Question: Getting a new Student Mentor!

earonw49earonw49 Member Posts: 190 ■■■□□□□□□□
Good day to everyone! Hope all is well out there!

As the title depicts, I am highly considering getting a new student mentor. Why? Let me tell you my experience a few weeks into my first term...

Note that aside from the situation with my current SM, I am so far LOVING WGU! Couldn't be any more excited!

As for my background I have been working in IT for almost three years and already have my A+ and N+ as well as my associates in Information Technology. I also have spent the past year (while finishing my degree and getting my certs) stalking forums and extracting as much information from students as possible to get a fair idea of what I was getting into. This will help to see where I am coming from and that I am not someone who is coming into this school blindly.

The breakdown:

During the first call with my SM, I basically reiterated to her that I plan to utilizie my own study sources when it comes to the certification courses in my degree (BSIT:Security) and some of the WGU courses as well. If I needed any additional resources for the course, I would gladly utilize WGU's, then proceed from there. Little did I realize that my SM simply wanted to do things her way...

First sign that this wasn't going to "work out" was the fact that I wanted my courses laid out a very specific way, all of which were exactly at or exceeding 12 CU a term. Of course I didn't request anything "crazy" (as they see it) like the CCNA, tech writing or capstone courses in my first term. I am actually very reasonable and "know better". She completley ignored me and my request(s). She made her "proposal plan" for my first semester and kept presisting that I use it. After I attempted to reason with her several times she still insisted on her way...making me feel like I have no choice in making my own path at WGU. So of course I took it and went along. Bad decision.