Options

Looking to get into Networking

ScyphnScyphn Member Posts: 51 ■■■□□□□□□□
Hello all,
I am 25 years old and currently serving in the military(Navy). Ive been in for the past 4 years and looking to getting into Networking. I currently don’t hold any certifications and would like to know what I would need to do to start getting certified. I will be deploying soon so any and all knowledge such as what books to read(on said topic) or anything of that such would be greatly appreciated. I know 25 seems late but I don’t plan on quitting the military for another 4 years and during that time I plan on going to school to get my bachelor’s in an IT field major. Im new to this, so once again any and all info would be nice. Thank you all in advance!

Comments

• Options
    MTciscoguyMTciscoguy Member Posts: 552
    25 is not late at all, I got back into it after retiring from the Military, I spent 30 years in the Army.
    Current Lab: 4 C2950 WS, 1 C2950G EI, 3 1841, 2 2503, Various Modules, Parts and Pieces. Dell Power Edge 1850, Dell Power Edge 1950.
  • Options
    Alright, so there is hope! Thank you for the encouragement!
  • Options
    ccnpninjaccnpninja Member Posts: 1,010 ■■■□□□□□□□
    I encourage you to first get your Network+ certification or CCNA.
  • Options
    ccnpninja wrote: »
    I encourage you to first get your Network+ certification or CCNA.

Is it one or the other? Or get both? With that being said roughly how long would it take to obtain said certs?
  • Options
    Network+ would be a good one to study, will give you a great intro into the world of networking. I would probably get your A+ as well, that way you have at least a fundamental understanding of equipment.
    Current Lab: 4 C2950 WS, 1 C2950G EI, 3 1841, 2 2503, Various Modules, Parts and Pieces. Dell Power Edge 1850, Dell Power Edge 1950.
  • Options
    Jon_CiscoJon_Cisco Member Posts: 1,772 ■■■■■■■■□□
    Welcome to the forum.