Options

My CCIE R&S Study Journal

TBickleTBickle Member Posts: 110
Up until a few days ago, i've been very noncommittal with my CCIE studies. Anyhow, this past weekend I decided i would make a study schedule and stick with it. I plan on studying anywhere between 15-20 hours a week, with at least 2 hours each weekday and 3 hours on Saturdays and Sundays. I have a subscription to Safari Books and INE, as well as having CCIE v5.0 Volume 1&2 books, Routing TCP/IP 1&2 and Internet Routing Architectures.

I finished up my CCNP about a year back and considered beginning my IE studies, but then got sidetracked with my Masters capstone project. Well, I finished that project this past December and now all my study energy can be redirected towards my IE. My goal is to be ready to sit for the Written in 4.5 months, and the lab by next February. This is probably a pretty aggressive goal, but I am not married, I do not have any kids nor do I have a girlfriend holding me back. Hopefully those three factors work in my favor.

I do not have any type of writing plan for this journal, only that I update it regularly so that I may look back as the time goes by to see how far I have come and what I studied.

My current plan is to finish reading all of CCIE Routing and Switching Volume 1, then going back around to complete all of the quizzes at the beginning of each chapter. If I score low on a particular chapter, I will re-read it and quiz myself again until I fully understand the concepts. Weekends will be for short labs and review. Weekdays will be for reading. I plan on finishing Volume 1 by this Friday.

Before I log any of my study journal time, if anyone reading this study journal has any insight they would like to share or any study tactics they found very useful, by all means, please do share.

Today's Study Material taken from One Note Entry:

Tuesday, February15th, 2015:
  • Reading Time:
    • 2 hrs