In progress certification on my resume?

mataimatai Member Posts: 232 ■■■□□□□□□□
Is it ever OK to put a certification that I'm working toward on my resume? In my case, I'm studying hard everyday for the CISSP but I don't have it yet, I have it scheduled for mid-March and already hold the SSCP. I'm currently leaning towards not putting it on out of being cautious but I thought I'd check here.

What do you all think? Could it be something like:

ISC2 CISSP in progress
ISC2 CISSP (expected March 17, 2015)
ISC2 CISSP (I don't actually have this yet, I'm just a poser trying to get your resume reading machines to notice me)

Thanks!
Current: CISM, CISA, CISSP, SSCP, GCIH, GCWN, C|EH, VCP5-DCV, VCP5-DT, CCNA Sec, CCNA R&S, CCENT, NPP, CASP, CSA+, Security+, Linux+, Network+, Project+, A+, ITIL v3 F, MCSA Server 2012 (70-410, 70-411, 74-409), 98-349, 98-361, 1D0-610, 1D0-541, 1D0-520
In Progress: ​Not sure...

Comments

• NetworkNewbNetworkNewb Member Posts: 3,298 ■■■■■■■■■□
    I do, I think it shows your still working harder to improve yourself and also helps get through HR when they are just word searching ;) I put the "expected March, 2015" on with it.
  • jamthatjamthat Member Posts: 304 ■■■□□□□□□□
    matai wrote: »
    Is it ever OK to put a certification that I'm working toward on my resume? In my case, I'm studying hard everyday for the CISSP but I don't have it yet, I have it scheduled for mid-March and already hold the SSCP. I'm currently leaning towards not putting it on out of being cautious but I thought I'd check here.

What do you all think? Could it be something like:

ISC2 CISSP in progress
    ISC2 CISSP (expected March 17, 2015)
    ISC2 CISSP (I don't actually have this yet, I'm just a poser trying to get your resume reading machines to notice me)

Thanks!

I do this with the in-progress in italics below my current certs, it looks something like (ISC)2 Certified Information Systems Security Professional (CISSP) - est August, 2015