Options

Entry level jobs with just CCENT?

lukingluking Banned Posts: 46 ■■□□□□□□□□
I need some guidance here.
I have over 15 years experience in Helpdesk level 2 and 3. I have MCSE/MCDBA/a+/n+ etc. Have quite a it of familiarity with networking concepts/ different OS including Liu etc. I support many extremely complex applications, good overall familiarity with IT but have never worked as a Systems administrator. I expect to gain CCNA (security) within 6 months.
I am now preparing for InfoSec route and have started studying CCENT books and expect to take exam within couple of weeks.
My questions are
1. Should I first try to find a job as a network administrator (or something similar) using my MCSE certs and experience and then pursue Cisco Certified security jobs route
or
2. Pass CCENT first and immediately look for an entry level position in network security?
If 2, then are there any entry level jobs available in Greater Toronto area? If yes what kind of salary I should be looking for?

Will appreciate any input from industry insiders.
Thanks

Comments

• Options
    NetworkNewbNetworkNewb Member Posts: 3,298 ■■■■■■■■■□
    Did you really mean 51 years? retiring isn't an option yet? :p

I usually think a CCNA is minimum for a networking position but if you have a ton of experience and a MSCE someone might give you a try.

CCNA shouldnt take too long to get anyways....
  • Options
    VinnyCiscoVinnyCisco Member Posts: 176
    luking wrote: »
    I have over 51 years experience in Helpdesk level 2 and 3.

Just wondering... what type of calls came into the helpdesk in 1964?
    "Failure is the prerequisite of Success" - V. G.
  • Options
    51? LOL
    Fixed it
  • Options
    tecnodog7tecnodog7 Member Posts: 129